Surprise!!

So, my boys are eight, and in case you’re not familiar with eight-year-olds, that’s prime age for all things magical and secret. Last week was my birthday, and I knew my boys were up to something (a. because the Jonah can’t keep a secret to save his life, and kept telling me, “We’re doing something seeeecreeeet for youuuuu! But we can’t tell you what it iiiiiiis!”) because they kept rushing off to corners to whisper to each other, and then giggling while casting knowing looks over their shoulders at me. It would have seemed a lot like my junior high experience, if I didn’t know my boys don’t have an ounce of guile in their bodies. πŸ˜‰

The day of my birthday came and went–and it was lovely! Shopping with a friend, and a lovely cake my boys decorated just for me. How did I not get a picture?–but it seemed, somehow, that the big secret hadn’t hit yet. Which is I knew I was in for it when Justin came to get me in the bathtub at 10 pm the next night and said I needed to get out.

Here’s what met me when I came, be-robed and wet-headed, to the bottom of the stairs:

“WELCOME TO HOGWARTS!” they announced, and handed me two sealed envelopes, said to have been brought by owl-post. When I opened them, this is what they said:

“Oh, hooray!” I exclaimed. “I’m a Gryffindor!” The boys were uber-thrilled at my excitement, and kicked it into high gear; I was adorned with that brown invisibility cloak you see in the picture above, along with the Sword of Gryffindor (naturally), and given a wand. All was very mysterious in the house–the lights were mostly off, with just a few sconces glowing, but I was told that “All would be revealed if I followed the spiders!” (Keep in mind that all of this is being pronounced in horrifically awful British and altered-to-sound-adult accents, and it was all I could do not to laugh. SO AWESOME.)

And so, holding my cloak-blanket tight and carrying a wand and a sword, I followed the spiders! They were taped all over the walls and doorways, and led me all over the house to find the hidden horcruxes.

Slytherin’s locket, in my pantry

But there were more than a few of these along the way!

Expecto patronum!!

We also had to fight a basilisk–I had to have a bit of help with that one, since only the boys remembered how to speak parseltongue.

Please note Tom Riddle’s diary in that picture.

In the end, we found all the horcruxes, and were treated to Polyjuice Potion. It tasted better than we expected!

Mmm! Rootbeer floats!

I’m sure it’s a birthday I’ll never forget. Thanks, boys. ❀

6 thoughts on “Surprise!!

  1. That’s amazing, and so cute! πŸ™‚ Can’t imagine Dylan being old enough – or creative enough – to do something like that! x

    Like

Leave a Reply

