It’s Summer!

Hello from Boise and Happy July! My part of the country had a long, cool, wet spring (for once!) and it’s seemed like summer’s been a long time comin’ this year. Between the unseasonable weather and waiting with baited breath for my boys to be done with school, I have been absolutely itching for summer break and those long, sticky days filled with “Mom! We’re bored!” absolutely no responsibilities. It’s been fantastic so far.

It’s these times when I take full advantage of being a stay-at-home mom: we stay home and play in the backyard, laze around the house reading, eat lots of fruit because I can’t be bothered to cook, and when I find the energy, I make jam out of all the amazing ripe berries we find at the store and maybe some bread to go with it. Occasionally, I knit. Sounds idyllic, no? Honestly, despite the bickering kids and the two 18-month-olds making a mess of the house, most days it really is. (And yes, I know just how lucky I am.)

This is what I got up to today:

I stole the idea from someone on Pinterest. (I’d credit the original source, but it’s not listed with the pin. So if you’re the creator of this adorable idea, let me know, and I’ll be happy to pay homage where it’s due.) Isn’t it so summer-y and fun? I’m really not the crafty sort, and it’s not often that I literally put down the computer and walk out the door to go directly to the craft store because I think an idea is THAT. CUTE. But I thought this was! I’m happy with how it turned out.

Also: can I just say? I ran out of ribbon (really? 10 yards wasn’t enough to cover an 18″ wreath? Really?) and I had to go back to the craft store by myself. Oh, the novelty! The joy! The maniacal grin on my face when I realized I could crank the music up REALLY REALLY LOUD and roll down the windows and sing at the top of my lungs! The utter humiliation when I realized someone had pulled up next to me at the stoplight and had their windows down, too! (I am really *that* loud. It was hilarious.)

Anyway. It’s one of the joys of my almost-34-year-old life to be able to just have a little time to be me, alone, in a car once in a while.

Freedom

Leave a Reply

