Oh My Chocolate!

Those of you who know me well know that I’m not usually much of a chocolate fan. I’ll eat the occasional dense, fudgy brownie, but I’m not one to buy and scarf bars of chocolate or drool over molten cakes and double-chocolate mousses.

But then I got pregnant.

Something about being pregnant makes my hormones all kinds of wacky–maybe it’s the increase in estrogen, which I’m usually low on–I don’t know. But I know I took one look at a recipe for Triple-Chocolate Cookies, and took myself immediately to the store for ingredients. (And yes, I’m still using the scooters. Can I just tell you how ridiculous you feel, driving one of those suckers around? Hi, I’m so pregnant I can’t walk! But seriously, 65-year-old Judgy Judgerson, please don’t look at me like I’m a  lazy slob–when you’re pregnant with twins for the second time, we’ll talk. Anyway.)

Here’s the recipe! Stuff like this makes a subscription to Cook’s Illustrated Magazine totally worth it.

Mmmmm…chooooocolaaaaate….

Triple-Chocolate Cookies
from Cooks Illustrated Magazine

1 1/2 cups bittersweet chocolate chips (needs to be chips, not a bar, because the fat will ruin the consistency.)
3 oz unsweetened chocolate, chopped
7 Tbsp butter, cut into chunks
2 tsp instant coffee powder (I left this out, but I bet it’s good)
2 tsp vanilla extract
3 large eggs, room temperature
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup unbleached all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp table salt
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

1. Melt bittersweet chips, unsweetened chocolate, and butter in a heatproof bowl set over a saucepan of simmering water. Stir frequently, until chocolates have melted and become completely smooth and glossy. Remove bowl from pan and set aside to cool slightly.

2. Stir coffee powder and vanilla extract together in small bowl until dissolved. Beat eggs and sugar in large bowl of stand mixer fit with paddle attachment at med-high speed until mixture is very thick and pale, about 4 minutes. Add vanilla-coffee mixture and beat until fully incorporated, 20 seconds. Reduce speed to low, add chocolate mixture, and mix until thoroughly combined, about 30 seconds.

3. Whisk flour, baking powder, and salt together in medium bowl. Using large rubber spatula, fold flour mixture and semisweet chips into batter. Cover bowl with plastic wrap and let stand at room temperature for 20 to 30 minutes until batter firms up (it will more closely resemble thick brownie batter than cookie dough.)

4. Meanwhile, adjust oven racks to upper- and lower-middle positions and heat oven to 350 degrees. Line 2 large baking sheets with parchment. Using 1 heaping tablespoon batter per cookie, place cookies 2 inches apart on prepared baking sheets. Bake until cookies are shiny and cracked on top, 11 to 14 minutes, rotating baking sheets top to bottom and front to back halfway through baking. Transfer baking sheets to wire racks and cool cookies completely, on baking sheets, before serving. Cooling ON the pans is important to maintaining the fudgy texture of the cookies. Store in an airtight container for up to 3 days. Makes abt 24 cookies.

2 thoughts on “Oh My Chocolate!

  1. Those look so yummy! I think I will have to try them. Crazy what we crave when pregnant. I have to share something… Isabella saw your picture as I was reading your blog entry and started asked me questions. I explained who you were by referring to our outing at the park and library with the twins. Then told her you were having twins again. Her expression was priceless. With big eyes and a big smile she said “Twins again! That means she will have 4 kids and we only have 3.”. Hehe too cute.

    Like

Leave a Reply

