How a pregnancy test made me a crazy person, and other adventures.

See this? This:

Um.... What?

is what I got this morning when I attempted approximately my 7th pregnancy test in two weeks. I know, I know–it’s ridiculous to go through that many tests. But when you’re nauseous to the point of puking every few days, and your boobs feel like they’re going to explode, you take them. And take them and take them and take them. Even when you know the tests can’t possibly work until 4 days before your period’s due. snerk.

So anyway, that’s what I got this morning. What the heck would YOU think looking at that? Is there a line, or isn’t there? Do I go to the store and buy more? Do I try another brand? Do I wait a few days? CAN I wait a few days?

Instead, I asked my girlfriends. They were all sure that a line is a line, no matter how faint. And the logic makes sense–the test only shows a positive if the hormone’s there. But it’s so faint…do we trust it? Frak.

So I went to the store and got another brand. Which turned out to be, in fact, LESS sensitive than the original, though the intarwebs told me otherwise. In any event, no dice–negative test. But who wants to accept that result? Not meeee.

And so into the van we piled and zoomed off to the doctor’s office. And that teensy line? My friends? It means “PREGNANT!” WOOO HOOOOO!

It’s been a looooong time since I did this. It’ll be an adventure!

Pray/cross your fingers/send thoughts out to the universe for a girl for me, would ya?

4 thoughts on “How a pregnancy test made me a crazy person, and other adventures.

Leave a Reply

