I’m (OK, slightly) famoos!

This? Is a link to a blog where my actual knitted object, made with my own hands appears. 🙂 Yes, yes it is a beet. Why on EARTH would anyone knit a beet, you ask? (This is me trying not to laugh.) “Because,” I reply, “I can.”

And because I love The Office. I’ve seen every episode at least twice, and one of my favorite characters is Dwight, played by Rainn Wilson. Fans of the show will know that Dwight Schrute owns a beet farm, and is constantly touting the virtues and benefits of beets. It’s hilarious because…well, we all know beets aren’t the most popular veggie. And Dwight is oh, so very srs about them. (And bears. And Battlestar Galactica.)

So when I saw a new group on Ravelry called “Beets for Dwight,” I had to join. The goal is to gather 100 knitted beets in a box and send them to Rainn Wilson. Imagine opening a box filled with beets. Knitted beets! The idea makes me giggly.

Anyway, here’s my contribution to the cause. I may make more, because, let’s face it. That is one beautiful vegetable.

Beet, pattern by Norah Gaughan
Beet, pattern by Norah Gaughan

Oh! I almost forgot to yammer about what I’m working on now! It’s the Seeded Cables Cardigan, and it’s gorgeous. Here’s a photo from when I started:

Seeded Cables Cardigan from Sensual Knits. Pattern by Sarah Heiniger.
Seeded Cables Cardigan from Sensual Knits. Pattern by Sarah Heiniger.

Because the cable pattern is so complex, I find myself buried in the chart every other row, and so it’s taking foreeeever to finish. I’ve got the back done, and one side about 1/3 of the way there. It’s a lot of work, but so worth it. The finished product is so cute.

I’ve also been doing some sewing. I decided to be a nice mommy and indulge my boys’ love for costumes and dinosaurs. They’re coming together quickly, and I’m loving them! The fabrics we found were awesome, and I’m using this pattern. A’s is a “T-Rex,” and J’s is a “Tyrannosaurus.” I love how they think those are different.

School’s almost out here…three more days, and I’ll have two little boys on my hands full-time again! Hooray!

4 thoughts on “I’m (OK, slightly) famoos!

  1. Nice Beet! The best by far! Those costumes look cool and love that they think they are different. LOL! I am sewing Capes for my munchkins. So fun!

    Like

Leave a Reply

