I made the switch!

Yay for WordPress! Don’t look forward to zillions of posts from me because: I admit it. I am a blog neglecter. I haven’t been in mine for months, and truly, so much has been going on in our lives that I don’t know where to start. And yet, hardly any of it has been terribly exciting, which is why I haven’t bothered. For the most part, we’ve just been plugging along happily. Which is a good thing.

Anyway, the highlights: J got promoted. Then un-moted, then sort of re-moted. (Hee.) But he’s really happy in the new job, and it’s a good move for him. So, yay! The only bummer about it is that now he’s antsy to be done with school, and it’s making it a little hard for him to concentrate. DUDE. Just eight more months! Poor guy. This has been a long seven years.

I still can’t believe that my babies started school. Kindergarten’s been awesome for them, and they’re soaking up new info like little sponges–they can already write their names and all kinds of other words. They weren’t writing at all a month ago. I totally love their teacher, too, and I’m so glad they didn’t get the other one. She’s a little…intense. About things that don’t matter. The one they got is just right, and I’m really enjoying going in to help out in their class once a week. The boys love her, too, and told me last week that they gave her hugs on the way out the door. Aww. They’re making friends in their class, too, and it’s been funny to hear the other kids excitedly refer to them as “The Twins.” Har. I always knew that’d happen, no matter how hard we fought it at home. Oh, well. At least they’re well-liked!

As for me, I was recently diagnosed with Graves’ Disease. Which is not so grave as it sounds. It’s the leading cause of hyperthyroidism, and though it’s an autoimmune disease, it’s easily treatable with drugs. Mine are working well–my T-levels are already back within range, and hopefully my TSH will be back up where it belongs soon, too. I think my hair’s stopped falling out as well, which is awesome. Yay drugs.

In knitting news, I finished my first pair of socks! They’re Snickets, and they’re a little big, but I love them.

Snickety goodness
Snickety goodness

I committed to make them for the Ravelympics, and I totally did not get them finished in time. Meh. Oh, well. I’ve caught the bug now, and I seem to beplanning socks I could be working on while I plod along in boredom on my Tangled Yoke Cardi. I looove this pattern, and the fabric is working up beautifully. I’m just in need of a change, now that I’m working 388 stitches in stockinette. Just another inch, though, and I’ll be into the chart. Whew! BONUS: it actually fits me!

3 thoughts on “I made the switch!

  1. I love those socks. I know what you mean about not blogging because so much has been going on, but so little of it is interesting.

    Yep, I understand it.

    Like

  2. Hey – just found your blog. Your knitting projects look great. That is always something I would like to pick up but never have. My mom even got me the stuff to make slippers but I still haven’t gotten started and that was 2 years ago. Oh well. How are you? Long time no talk or see. Sounds like you are all doing pretty good. Bella is loving school also. Sorry to hear you have Graves Disease but glad that you are feeling better and that the drugs are working. I would love to catch up!

    Like

Leave a Reply

